Guest Editorial

Nevada State Assemblyman Ira Hansen


Donald Trump was overwhelmingly selected by the grassroots of the Republican Party after a grueling primary with over a dozen excellent potential choices.

And he did it with the greatest number of votes in GOP history, and in the very teeth of sneering pundits, a hostile media and a united GOP establishment hell-bent on forcing another Bush on the Party.

The reaction to Trump’s triumph by the national GOP establishment was, and remains, a painful eye-opener for many GOP faithful. For years they have been mystified why, when Republicans are in control of the ship of state, Republican principles get, if anything, lethargic efforts at implementation.

What Trump has exposed is the oligarchy Washington DC has become, an incestuous nest of K Street lobbyists, political consultants, mass media operatives, international corporate financiers – and with both parties answering behind the scenes to this cabal, “not a dime’s worth of difference”, despite which Party is in charge.

In President Andrew Jackson’s day, he called a similar group “a nest of vipers, and gentlemen, I intend to drive you out!”

Republicans in Nevada face a similar problem, with the base of the Party still in shock when, with GOP control of the entire legislative process, the largest tax increase in Nevada history was enacted – promises to do the exact opposite to the contrary.

Worse, the titular head of the Nevada GOP, Governor Brian Sandoval, has refused to endorse Trump. Why?  In anticipation of a probable federal appointment – in the Democratic Hillary Clinton Administration!

If you are wondering why there is a “rift” in the Nevada GOP, re-read those last two paragraphs. More stark examples of why is hard to imagine.

Donald Trump is the clear and overwhelming choice of Nevada’s Republicans – it’s time all of Nevada’s elected officials, including Governor Sandoval and US Senator Dean Heller, unite behind the Party’s selection. I call on ALL Nevada GOP elected officials to unite behind the next President of the United States – Donald J. Trump.